Showing posts with label bad drivers. Show all posts
Showing posts with label bad drivers. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Texting in Rhode Island

On Nov. 10, 2009, Rhode Island pasted a ban on texting and driving. It was the 19th state to pass a texting law. Texting and driving is the number one cause of teen death. Even though I don't text, I believe that it is extremely dangerous to text and drive. It can cause drivers to lose focus of what there doing and get in an accident.This law will help put driver's eyes back on the road where they should be.

The Laws:
It states that no one can text and drive. It also says that everyone under 18 can't us a cell phone at all but everyone 18 and older can make only phone calls when they drive.

Fines:
1st offense:$85
2nd offense: $100
3rd offense: $125

Here is the Providence Journal news article about texting in RI
http://newsblog.projo.com/2009/11/governor-signs-text-messaging.html

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Connecticut has Laws! (Seriously!)

Did you know that 34% of teens admit to texting while they drive? If you happen to be a part of that statistic, you may want to avoid driving in Connecticut. Now, while being 23 times more likely to get in an accident may not scare most of you careful texters out there, this new Connecticut law will ban reading, typing, and sending text messages while you drive. Unfortunately, trying to drive, text, and check around for cops simultaneously can be a bit tough at times. And if you fail, you'll end up getting your license suspended if you're under 18 and you'll have to pay a $125 restoration fee to get it back when your suspension ends, which can range from 30 days on your first offense to until you turn 18 on your second offense. It's definitely pretty harsh, especially considering text messaging only accounts for about 200,000 accidents a year. When you do turn 18, you can't even talk on your physical phone; you'll have to purchase one of those geeky bluetooth headsets or use some other hands-free accessory. If you prevent your urges and aren't confident of your driving skills, there are several apps that disable texting on your phone if you are moving at a speed greater than 10 miles an hour. Currently, there are 29 states that restrict cell phone usage for either novice or all drivers. You better watch out when you drive, because with this new generation growing up without properly learning how to text and drive, we may see a record wave of car accidents.